McGuinness Fights back in Mugen TT Zero dual with sensational fastest lap

03rd June 2014
John McGuinness responded to Bruce Anstey's fastest electric bike lap ever, clocked yesterday, in stunning fashion with a new fastest lap of his own. Record laps set in qualifying are classed as unofficial at the TT but no one would bet against the pair being well inside Michael Rutter's official 2013 lap time in Wednesday's SES TT Zero race.
McGuinness was quicker by just under four seconds to the first checkpoint at Glen Helen and was faster than Anstey in every sector, eventually recording the first sub 20 minute electric bike lap with an incredible time of 19:35.007 (115.597mph), over twenty seconds ahead of Anstey's 19:55.221 (113.642mph).

Four other riders - Robert Wilson on Belgian outfit Sarolea, Mark Miller on the Italian backed VercarMoto effort, George Spence on University outfit Kingston and Timothee Monot also took the opportunity to get a lap in ahead of Wednesday's Race.

In the sidecar qualifying session, Dave Molyneux (20:16.358/111.668mph) looked to put Saturday's disappointment behind them ahead of Wednesday's Sure Sidecar 2 Race while John Holden/Andy Winkle also posted a 110+lap (110.394). Father and son outfit Ian Bell/Carl Bell (109.383) will be looking to build on their excellent fourth place in the first sidecar race while Manx outfit Karl Bennett/Lee Cain (108.462) also enjoyed another excellent lap of the course.

Leave a comment

Your Name
Your Email
Your Comment
No info required here, please press the button below.